Passwordless Login via Fido2 – The next level of authentication

It always surprises me how slowly innovations find their way into everyday user life. Passwordless authentication is a good example of this. It’s no longer an absolute novelty, but still underrepresented in daily business.

 

I am convinced that the way people log in will change in the long term – and Fido2 will play a central role in this change.

 

Why do I care about the topic?

Quite simply: passwords make life harder for millions of users every day

 

Users have over 90 accounts1 on average, half of the passwords are reused for convenience. And a significant third of all online shopping transactions are not completed only because the password has been forgotten.

 

I can relate to all of this. Overall, passwords are simply a poor user experience in everyday digital life: for both employees and consumers. The fault doesn’t lie with the users – they’re only human, after all. Our job as UX designers is to make applications better.

Bye, bye, password!

So it’s finally time for a fast yet secure authentication method to make people’s daily lives easier and increase sales. But how?

Hello, Fido2!

The idea was actually born in 2009 in a meeting of PayPal and Validity Sensors.2 The plan was to develop an industry standard that would allow users to authenticate themselves locally on their device using public key cryptography – without the need for a password. As a result, the Fido Alliance was created to develop this open and license-free standard. As a result of the development, the use of the so-called Fido2 specification is possible. The “2” refers to the latest version of the Fido specifications.

Name origin

The name “Fido” stands for Fast IDentity Online. Fido also comes from Latin and means “to trust, to rely on”.3

The most important digital players are involved in the development: Google, Amazon, Apple, Facebook, Intel, Microsoft – to name just a few. The fact that all these companies are involved gives me the feeling that Fido2 will become enormously important in the near future.

 

How Fido2 works from the user’s point of view

For users, Fido2 means that they can log in securely, quickly and conveniently using a single terminal device.

 

Prerequisite: the user must activate this device once for his account in his profile.

 

Login Flow Fido2

  1. Enter username
  2. Authentication via preferred passwordless method
    (Biometrics or Security Key)
  3. Successful login

 

Fido2 Authenticators can be divided into two categories:

 

  • Built-in Biometrics: Biometric methods built into the device, such as “Windows Hello” or “FaceID”.
  • Hardware Security Keys that can be used on multiple devices and provide a workaround if the device does not have Built-in Biometrics.

Fido2 Authenticators

Fido2’s Advantages at a glance:

  • Browser-enabled: Biometric login is now finally possible for browser applications through Fido2. Chrome, Edge, Firefox for Android, Windows and macOS are already included. Which browsers support Fido in detail and to what extent can be found here.
  • 2FA: what I find particularly exciting is that Fido2 can also be used as a second factor.The hardware is something the user owns. The biometrics is something the user is. This combination gives us 2-factor authentication on the same device.
  • Safe: similar to personal biometric authentication data on modern smartphones, the login credentials never leave the device and are not stored on any server. This makes it particularly secure and the user’s privacy is protected.
  • Cost reduction: without passwords, there will be fewer support tickets and the IT department can use their time more wisely.
  • Comfortable: users can log in more conveniently and quickly: without a password, by facial scan, fingerprint, voice input or by using a USB stick (security key).
  • One device: unlike logins via Authenticator apps, Fido2 allows users to stay on the same device.

Challenges provided by Fido2:

  • Browser readiness: many browsers support Fido2, but not all of them have the same level of development. So it might take a little while until everyone is on the same level with this topic.
  • Recovery option: if the user loses a device or gets a new one, the user must identify themself somehow, even without Fido2. Here, too, the password does not necessarily have to step into the breach (e.g. SMS, Magic Link) – but it is an option. When Fido2 is established, an adequate recovery function must be considered.
  • One device logic: for the user, Fido2 is new. For this reason, he might not understand that the registration is only valid for this one device. Transparent and good communication is therefore very important.
  • The right wording: since Fido2 is not yet an established term, naming the button for the passwordless login is a bit tricky. Either the choice between security key and biometric options is offered by a generic, upstream button called “Passwordless Login” or “Skip Password”, or you show the user the options directly with multiple buttons, e.g. “Windows Hello” and “Security Key”. I would generally advise against the term “Platform Authenticator”. The users usually do not know what is hidden behind it.

The future of login is passwordless – and Fido2 paves the way

The reasoning is quite simple: the fewer steps an employee needs to log into his work-related systems, the more efficient his workday will be.

 

What’s more, if you don’t have to enter a password, you can’t forget it and don’t have to open a support ticket. Exactly the same applies to users of an online store. If you can log in without much effort, you are far more likely to complete your purchase process. In a direct comparison, the password only wins on the point of habit, but in all other categories, such as security, user experience, and efficiency, it loses hands down to Fido2.

 

I am currently working on a customer project in which we are introducing Fido2 and the reactions have been consistently positive. Fido2 is a sustainable, simple and cross-platform way to establish a better login experience in daily business – it is not only more convenient for the user, but also much more secure than “hello1234”.

 

 


1: https://fidoalliance.org/what-is-fido/

2: https://fidoalliance.org/overview/history/

3: https://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung/latein-deutsch/fido

Author

Julia

Related Articles

How to integrate SAP Customer Data Cloud (CDC) within SAP Identity Management (IDM)
SAP Customer Data Platform – Being the Customer’s Best Friend
Menu

Passwortloser Login mit Fido2 – The next level of authentication

Mich überrascht es immer wieder, wie langsam Innovationen ihren Weg in den User-Alltag finden. Die passwortlose Authentifizierung ist hierfür ein gutes Beispiel. Schon längst keine absolute Neuheit mehr, aber dennoch unterrepräsentiert im Daily Business.

 

Ich bin überzeugt davon, dass sich die Art und Weise, wie Menschen sich einloggen, langfristig ändern wird – und Fido2 wird dabei eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

 

Warum beschäftigt mich das Thema?

Ganz einfach: Passwörter machen das Leben von Millionen Nutzern täglich schwerer.

 

Nutzer haben im Durchschnitt über 90 Accounts1 , die Hälfte der Passwörter wird aus Bequemlichkeit wieder verwendet. Und ein bedeutendes Drittel aller Vorgänge im Online-Shopping wird nur deshalb nicht abgeschlossen, weil das Passwort vergessen wurde.

 

Ich kann das alles nachvollziehen. Passwörter sind insgesamt einfach eine schlechte User-Experience im digitalen Alltag: sowohl für Mitarbeiter als auch für Konsumenten. Der Fehler liegt nicht bei den Nutzern – die sind schließlich auch nur Menschen. Unsere Aufgabe als UX-Designer ist es, die Anwendungen besser zu machen.

Bye, bye, Passwort!

Es wird also endlich Zeit für eine schnelle und trotzdem sichere Authentifizierungsmethode, um den Alltag der Menschen zu erleichtern und den Umsatz zu steigern. Aber wie?

Hallo, Fido2!

Die Idee wurde tatsächlich bereits 2009 in einem Meeting von PayPal und Validity Sensors geboren.2 Es sollte ein Industriestandard entwickelt werden, mit dem sich Nutzer lokal auf ihrem Gerät mit Hilfe der Public Key Kryptographie authentifizieren können – ganz ohne Passwort. Daraufhin wurde die Fido Alliance ins Leben gerufen, um diesen offenen und lizenzfreien Standard zu entwickeln. Als Resultat der Entwicklung ist die Verwendung der sogenannten Fido2-Spezifikation möglich. Die „2“ verweist auf die neuste Version der Fido-Spezifikationen.

Namensherkunft

Der Name „Fido“ steht für Fast IDentity Online. Fido kommt auch aus dem Lateinischen und bedeutet „trauen, vertrauen, sich auf etwas verlassen“3

An der Entwicklung sind die wichtigsten digitalen Player beteiligt: Google, Amazon, Apple, Facebook,  Intel, Microsoft – um nur ein paar zu nennen. Dass all diese Firmen daran mitwirken, gibt mir das Gefühl, dass Fido2 in naher Zukunft enorm an Bedeutung gewinnen wird.

 

So funktioniert Fido2 aus Nutzersicht

Für den Nutzer bedeutet Fido2, dass er sich mit einem einzigen Endgerät sicher, schnell und bequem einloggen kann.

 

Voraussetzung: Der Nutzer muss dieses Gerät in seinem Profil einmalig für seinen Account freischalten.

Login Flow Fido2

  1. Nutzernamen eingeben.
  2. Authentifizierung über präferierte passwortlose Methode
    (Biometrics oder Security Key)
  3. Erfolgreicher Login

 

Fido2 Authenticators können in zwei Kategorien eingeteilt werden:

 

  • Built-in Biometrics: In das Gerät eingebaute, biometrische Verfahren wie „Windows Hello“ oder „FaceID“.
  • Hardware Security Keys, die auf mehreren Geräten verwendet werden können und Abhilfe schaffen, wenn das Gerät keine Built-in Biometrics vorweisen kann.

Fido2 Authenticators

Vorteile von Fido2 auf einen Blick:

  • Browserfähig: Biometrischer Login ist durch Fido2 nun endlich auch für Browseranwendungen möglich. Chrome, Edge, Firefox jeweils für Android, Windows und macOS sind bereits dabei. Welche Browser in welchem Umfang Fido im Detail unterstützen ist hier nachzulesen.
  • 2FA: Besonders spannend finde ich, dass Fido2 auch als zweiter Faktor genutzt werden kann: Die Hardware ist etwas, was der User besitzt. Die Biometrie ist etwas, was der Nutzer ist. Durch diese Kombination haben wir eine 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung am gleichen Gerät.
  • Sicher: Ähnlich wie bei persönlichen, biometrischen Authentifizierungsdaten moderner Smartphones verlassen die Login-Credentials niemals das Gerät und werden auf keinem Server gespeichert. Das macht es besonders sicher und die Privatsphäre des Nutzers wird geschützt.
  • Kostenreduktion: Ohne Passwörter wird es weniger Support-Tickets geben und die IT- Abteilung kann ihre Zeit sinnvoller nutzen.
  • Bequem: User können sich bequemer und schneller einloggen: ohne Passwort, per Gesichts-Scan, Fingerprint, Spracheingabe oder durch das Verwenden eines USB-Sticks (Security Key).
  • Ein Gerät: Anders als bei Logins via Authenticator-Apps können Nutzer durch Fido2 an ein und demselben Gerät bleiben.

Herausforderungen mit Fido2:

  • Browser-Readiness: Viele Browser unterstützen Fido2, aber nicht alle haben den gleichen Entwicklungsstand. Es könnte daher noch ein wenig dauern, bis alle bei diesem Thema auf dem gleichen Level sind.
  • Recovery-Option: Wenn der Nutzer ein Gerät verliert oder ein neues bekommt, muss sich der Nutzer auch ohne Fido2 irgendwie ausweisen. Auch hier muss nicht zwangsläufig das Passwort in die Presche springen (e.g. SMS, Magic Link) – eine Option ist es aber. Wenn Fido2 etabliert wird, muss an eine adäquate Recovery-Funktion gedacht werden.
  • One Device Logic: Für den Nutzer ist Fido2 neu. Aus diesem Grund könnte es sein, dass er nicht versteht, dass die Registrierung nur für dieses eine Gerät gilt. Eine transparente und gute Kommunikation ist daher sehr wichtig.
  • Das richtige Wording: Da Fido2 noch kein etablierter Begriff ist, ist die Benennung des Buttons für den passwortlosen Login etwas tricky. Entweder wird die Auswahl zwischen Security Key und biometrischen Optionen von einem generischen, vorgeschalteten Button namens „Passwortloser Login“ oder „Skip Password“ angeboten oder man zeigt dem Nutzer direkt die Optionen mit mehreren Buttons, z.B. „Windows Hello“ und „Security Key“. Von dem Begriff „Platform Authenticator“ würde ich generell abraten. Die Nutzer wissen in der Regel nicht, was sich dahinter verbirgt.

Die Zukunft des Logins ist passwortlos – und Fido2 ebnet den Weg

Die Überlegung ist ganz einfach: Je weniger Steps ein Mitarbeiter benötigt, um sich in seine arbeitsrelevanten Systeme einzuloggen, desto effizienter wird sein Arbeitstag. Dazu kommt: Wer kein Passwort eingeben muss, kann es nicht vergessen und muss kein Support-Ticket eröffnen. Genau das Gleiche gilt auch für User eines Onlineshops. Wer sich ohne großen Aufwand einloggen kann, wird mit einer weitaus höheren Wahrscheinlichkeit auch seinen Kaufprozess abschließen. Im direkten Vergleich gewinnt das Passwort nur beim Punkt der Gewohnheit, in allen anderen Kategorien wie Sicherheit, User Experience und Effizienz verliert es haushoch gegen Fido2.

 

Aktuell arbeite ich in einem Kundenprojekt, in dem wir Fido2 einführen und die Reaktionen sind durchweg positiv. Mit Fido2 gibt es eine nachhaltige, einfache und plattformübergreifende Möglichkeit, eine bessere Login-Experience im Daily Business zu etablieren – sie ist für den Nutzer nicht nur bequemer, sondern auch viel sicherer als “hallo1234”.

 


1: https://fidoalliance.org/what-is-fido/

2: https://fidoalliance.org/overview/history/

3: https://de.pons.com/%C3%BCbersetzung/latein-deutsch/fido

Author

Julia

Related Articles

How to: SAP IDM mit CDC verbinden und profitieren
SAP Customer Data Platform – des Kunden bester Freund sein
Menü